Tag: Crypto ETF Fees

  • Bitcoin ETF vs Self-Custody: The Fee Math After a $1.71B Week

    US spot bitcoin ETFs pulled in $1.71 billion across September 21–22, 2026, per Farside Investors, with Sept. 21 alone at $999.0 million. On a flat $10,000 position, IBIT’s 0.25% fee costs $25 a year forever; buying spot on Kraken at the 0.80% taker tier costs $80 once. Self-custody breaks even in 3.2 years.

    That is the whole bitcoin ETF vs self-custody question in one line of arithmetic. An ETF charges rent on your position every year. Holding coins yourself charges a toll once, at the door.

    The flow rebound this week makes the comparison urgent, because a lot of money just chose the expensive side. Below is the math, the tickers, and the part of the cost that never shows up in an expense ratio.

    What happened with bitcoin ETF flows on September 21–22, 2026?

    Flows turned sharply positive. Farside Investors logged $999.0 million of net creations on Sept. 21 and $714.7 million on Sept. 22 — $1.71 billion in two sessions. Bloomberg reported on Sept. 23 that the complex had turned positive after a $4.6 billion rebound. Bitcoin traded at $84,366 on Sept. 23, per CoinGecko.

    The Coin Republic called Sept. 21 the largest single inflow day since October 2025. Cumulatively, according to Farside, the US spot complex has taken in $56.94 billion since launch, against an average daily figure of just $84.2 million.

    The concentration is the story. Across those two days, IBIT took $731.7 million and FBTC took $496.2 million — $1.23 billion, or 71.7% of the total. Bitwise’s BITB, which charges less than both, took $21.6 million: 1.3%.

    Grayscale’s legacy GBTC sits at negative $27.84 billion cumulative, per the same Farside table. IBIT’s cumulative take is $64.86 billion.

    Why the flow split matters to a cost comparison

    It proves buyers are not optimizing for fees. If they were, the 0.15% and 0.20% funds would be absorbing the creations. Instead the two 0.25% funds took roughly seven dollars in every ten.

    Investors are paying up for liquidity and brand. That is a defensible trade — but it is a trade, and it should be priced deliberately rather than by default.

    Is a bitcoin ETF or self-custody cheaper to hold?

    Self-custody is cheaper on a long holding period; the ETF is cheaper on a short one. The crossover sits between 1.6 and 5.3 years depending on which fund and which order type you use. The ETF’s cost recurs annually on market value. The self-custody cost is one-time and fixed in dollars at purchase.

    The recurring cost: sponsor fees

    The iShares product page lists IBIT’s sponsor fee at 0.25%, with net assets of $67.08 billion as of Sept. 23, 2026. Fidelity’s documentation puts FBTC at 25 basis points.

    Bitwise discloses 0.20% for BITB, with $3.32 billion in assets as of Sept. 21, 2026. Grayscale’s Bitcoin Mini Trust page lists 0.15% and calls itself the lowest-cost bitcoin exchange-traded product in the world.

    The one-time cost: exchange fees and spread

    Kraken’s published fee schedule puts entry-tier spot trading at 0.40% maker and 0.80% taker for accounts with $0-plus in 30-day volume. A market order pays the taker rate. A resting limit order pays the maker rate.

    Add a bitcoin network withdrawal fee to move coins off the exchange. Kraken states these vary by network conditions rather than publishing a fixed figure, so treat it as a small variable line item, not zero.

    What does a $10,000 bitcoin position actually cost each way?

    On a flat $10,000 held five years: Grayscale’s BTC costs $75, BITB costs $100, IBIT and FBTC cost $125 each. A market-order self-custody purchase costs $80 once, then nothing. A limit-order purchase costs $40. Here is the arithmetic, using the fees above.

    RouteRateYear 15 years10 years
    Grayscale BTC (Mini)0.15%/yr$15$75$150
    Bitwise BITB0.20%/yr$20$100$200
    iShares IBIT0.25%/yr$25$125$250
    Fidelity FBTC0.25%/yr$25$125$250
    Self-custody (taker)0.80% once$80$80$80
    Self-custody (maker)0.40% once$40$40$40
    Cost of a flat $10,000 bitcoin position. Fees from issuer pages and Kraken’s fee schedule, retrieved Sept. 23, 2026. Excludes network withdrawal fees and hardware costs.

    The breakevens fall out directly:

    • Market order vs IBIT: $80 ÷ $25 = 3.2 years
    • Market order vs Grayscale BTC: $80 ÷ $15 = 5.3 years
    • Limit order vs IBIT: $40 ÷ $25 = 1.6 years
    • Limit order vs Grayscale BTC: $40 ÷ $15 = 2.7 years
    • Limit order vs BITB: $40 ÷ $20 = 2.0 years

    One adjustment matters more than any of this. The sponsor fee is charged on market value, not on your cost basis. If bitcoin triples, the ETF’s annual dollar cost triples with it while the self-custody toll stays fixed at $80.

    That asymmetry cuts both ways. In a drawdown the ETF’s dollar fee falls, and the self-custody buyer is stuck having paid 0.80% on a higher entry. The point is that the crossover is a moving target, not a fixed 3.2 years.

    Which bitcoin ETF has the lowest fee?

    Grayscale’s Bitcoin Mini Trust (BTC) at 0.15% is the cheapest sponsor fee among the funds we verified from issuer pages, ahead of Bitwise’s BITB at 0.20% and the 0.25% charged by both IBIT and FBTC. But the headline fee is not the whole holding cost.

    FundSponsor feeAssetsSept 21–22 flows
    Grayscale BTC (Mini)0.15%Not disclosed on pageNot separately listed
    Bitwise BITB0.20%$3.32B (Sept 21)$21.6M
    iShares IBIT0.25%$67.08B (Sept 23)$731.7M
    Fidelity FBTC0.25%Not disclosed on page$496.2M
    Grayscale GBTCLegacy vehicle-$27.84B cumulative flow$3.3M
    Fees from iShares, Fidelity, Bitwise and Grayscale pages. Flows from Farside Investors. All retrieved Sept. 23, 2026.

    IBIT’s scale buys tightness. Its page lists a 30-day median bid/ask spread of 0.02% — on a $10,000 round trip, roughly $2 of friction. A smaller fund with a wider spread can hand back the 10 basis points it saved you on the fee in a single entry and exit.

    The same page showed a premium/discount of -0.21% as of Sept. 22, 2026. That is a $21 mark below NAV on $10,000 at that snapshot. It is not a recurring fee, and it can invert — but it is a real cost of entering and exiting that no expense ratio captures.

    We ran similar arithmetic on the commodity side in our gold ETF fee comparison, where the fee gap between the cheapest and most popular fund was wider than it is here.

    What does self-custody cost that the fee table doesn’t show?

    Operational risk, and it is not small. Two events this month priced it. On Sept. 7, 2026, CoinDesk reported a $320 million exploit on the Liquid Network, used by exchanges. On Sept. 18, CoinDesk reported a targeted attack on Haruko, a London institutional crypto infrastructure provider.

    Haruko said 15 non-whitelisted clients were affected, with read-only exchange API credentials, trading data and “a small amount of client funds” taken. The firm serves more than 80 clients globally.

    Those were institutions with security staff. A retail holder running their own keys has a smaller attack surface but no recovery desk, no insurance and no one to call.

    The costs you should add to the self-custody column

    • Hardware. A dedicated signing device is a one-time purchase, plus a backup.
    • Network fees. Every withdrawal and every future consolidation pays the chain.
    • Time. Seed backup, geographic redundancy, periodic verification, an inheritance plan.
    • Tail risk. Loss of keys is absolute. There is no 0.25% that buys it back.

    Against that, self-custody removes counterparty exposure to a sponsor, a custodian and an authorized participant chain. The honest framing is that you are swapping one risk for another, and paying $25 a year for the swap.

    Is the bitcoin ETF vs self-custody choice different by account type?

    Yes, and account type often decides it before cost does. Tax-advantaged accounts cannot hold coins directly at most brokers, which makes the fee comparison irrelevant there. Taxable accounts have a real choice, and short horizons favor the wrapper.

    Investor situationCheaper on the numbersWhy
    IRA or 401(k)ETFDirect coin custody generally unavailable
    Holding under 2 years, taxableETF0.80% entry toll not yet amortized
    Holding 5-plus years, taxableSelf-custodyOne-time 0.40–0.80% beats 0.15–0.25% a year
    Trading around a positionETF0.02% median spread on IBIT; no on-chain fees
    Wants no counterpartySelf-custodyNo sponsor, custodian or AP chain
    Wants recourse if something breaksETFRegulated wrapper, broker statements, estate handling
    Framework based on fees retrieved Sept. 23, 2026. Not a recommendation for any individual.

    One tax wrinkle is moving. Congress advanced a digital-asset tax package in mid-September 2026 that would apply wash-sale rules to crypto — we covered the vote in our piece on the crypto wash sale rule. If it becomes law, one of self-custody’s practical advantages over the ETF wrapper narrows.

    Investors comparing wrappers on other assets may find our MSTR vs IBIT breakdown and our Solana and XRP ETF comparison useful, since both deal with the same wrapper-versus-asset cost question.

    Frequently asked questions

    Does a bitcoin ETF actually hold bitcoin?

    US spot bitcoin ETFs hold bitcoin through a custodian. You own shares in the trust, not keys. That is the structural difference the fee is buying.

    Which spot bitcoin ETF is largest?

    IBIT, by a wide margin. Its iShares page listed $67.08 billion in net assets as of Sept. 23, 2026, against $3.32 billion at Bitwise’s BITB as of Sept. 21.

    How long until self-custody is cheaper than IBIT?

    On a flat $10,000, 3.2 years at Kraken’s 0.80% taker rate and 1.6 years at the 0.40% maker rate, before network fees and hardware. Rising prices shorten the payback, because the ETF fee scales with value.

    Do bitcoin ETFs trade at a premium or discount?

    They can do both. IBIT’s page showed -0.21% as of Sept. 22, 2026 — a discount to NAV. Creation and redemption normally keeps the gap narrow, but it is never exactly zero.

    Is the lowest-fee bitcoin ETF always the cheapest to own?

    No. Total cost is the sponsor fee plus the spread you pay entering and exiting, plus any premium or discount. A wider spread on a smaller fund can outweigh a 10 basis point fee saving for an active holder.

    Can I hold bitcoin directly in an IRA?

    Most mainstream brokerage IRAs do not support direct coin custody, which is why the ETF wrapper dominates retirement allocations regardless of the fee math. Specialized self-directed custodians exist and carry their own fee schedules.

    What did bitcoin ETFs take in this week?

    $1.71 billion across Sept. 21–22, 2026, per Farside Investors — $999.0 million then $714.7 million. Bloomberg reported the complex had turned positive after a $4.6 billion rebound.

    The bottom line

    On cost alone, self-custody wins any holding period longer than roughly three years, and wins it decisively by year ten: $80 against $250 in IBIT on a flat $10,000.

    It depends on exactly two things, and they are both knowable. First, your account type — an IRA settles it for you. Second, whether you will actually execute key management correctly for a decade, because the failure mode there is total and the ETF’s is not.

    The uncomfortable finding is in the flow table. Buyers put 71.7% of $1.71 billion into the two most expensive funds on the list while the 0.20% option took 1.3%. Whatever this week’s money was optimizing for, it was not cost.

    This article is journalism, not investment advice. Do your own research before investing.

    Sources

  • Solana ETF vs XRP ETF: 5.31% Staking Changes the Math

    Solana ETF vs XRP ETF comes down to one number: carry. For the week ending September 18, 2026, SoSoValue data shows Solana ETFs logged a 12th straight green week at $13.2 million while XRP ETFs extended a 10-week streak with $9.56 million. But BSOL’s issuer page lists a 5.31% net staking rate against a 0.20% fee. Every US spot XRP ETF pays zero.

    That gap is worth more than the flow headlines. One product pays you to hold it. The other charges you and hands back nothing.

    What happened in crypto ETF flows in the week ending September 18, 2026?

    Solana ETFs took in $13.2 million for the week ending September 18, 2026, a 12th consecutive week of net inflows, according to SoSoValue data. XRP ETFs added $9.56 million over September 15-19, a 10th straight green week. Bitcoin ETFs managed $6.2 million, the smallest weekly figure in 141 weeks of trading.

    The bitcoin number is the one that stops you. SoSoValue data shows $1.499 billion moved gross across the week, but mid-week outflows of $450.33 million on September 15 and $295.98 million on September 16 cancelled nearly all of it.

    So the altcoin funds outdrew a $102.53 billion bitcoin complex on net flow. That is a real milestone, and it is also a much smaller achievement than it reads.

    The scoreboard, fund complex by fund complex

    Cumulative inflows tell a different story from the streaks. Solana ETFs sit at $1.37 billion cumulative with $1.42 billion in net assets. XRP ETFs, with the shorter streak, hit an all-time-high $1.720 billion cumulative on September 18 before Thursday redemptions trimmed it to $1.710 billion, per SoSoValue figures cited by CryptoPotato on September 20.

    XRP is the bigger asset gatherer. Solana is the more consistent one. Neither is close to bitcoin’s $55.16 billion cumulative haul.

    Which is cheaper to hold, a Solana ETF or an XRP ETF?

    On headline fee, the two complexes are close: Solana funds cluster at 0.19% to 0.30%, XRP funds at 0.19% to 0.50%. On total holding cost, they are not close at all. Solana funds stake. XRP funds cannot, because the XRP Ledger has no staking mechanism to pay them.

    Here are the three funds with the cleanest issuer-verified numbers as of this week.

    FundTickerSponsor feeNet staking rateNet annual carryAUM (as of)
    Bitwise Solana Staking ETFBSOL0.20%5.31%+5.11%$1.145B (Sep 17, 2026)
    Bitwise XRP ETFXRP0.34%None-0.34%$525.2M (Sep 17, 2026)
    Canary XRP ETFXRPC0.50%None-0.50%$346.0M (Sep 18, 2026)

    All three figures come from the issuers’ own fund pages. BSOL lists a 0.20% sponsor fee, $1,145,113,559 in assets as of September 17, 2026, and a NAV of $13.87 as of September 16.

    The Bitwise XRP fund page lists a 0.34% fee and $525,195,850 in assets as of September 17, 2026. Canary’s page lists a 0.50% sponsor fee and $345,951,665 as of September 18, 2026.

    Watch the fee that moved

    One number deserves scrutiny. A January 11, 2026 survey of XRP ETF fees recorded Canary’s XRPC at 0.35%. The issuer page now shows 0.50%.

    Introductory crypto ETF pricing rolls off. Check the fund page, not last quarter’s comparison table, before you assume you know what you are paying.

    How much does staking actually change the math on $10,000?

    On a $10,000 position held one year, the fee difference between these funds is roughly $30. The staking difference is roughly $530. Fee shopping between XRP ETFs is a rounding error next to the structural question of whether your fund earns network rewards at all.

    The arithmetic, using the rates on the issuer pages this week:

    • BSOL: $10,000 x 0.20% = $20 in fees. $10,000 x 5.31% net staking = $531 in rewards. Net carry: +$511.
    • Bitwise XRP: $10,000 x 0.34% = $34 in fees. Rewards: $0. Net carry: -$34.
    • Canary XRPC: $10,000 x 0.50% = $50 in fees. Rewards: $0. Net carry: -$50.

    The spread between BSOL and XRPC is $561 per $10,000 per year, before either token moves a cent. Over three years, ignoring compounding, that is $1,683 on a $10,000 stake.

    For scale: 5.31% net is 1.21 percentage points above the 4.10% Treasury bill yield reported in our September 18 cash-yield comparison. The difference is that a T-bill does not lose 30% of its principal in a bad quarter. Compare that to T-bills versus money market funds before treating staking as a cash substitute.

    Is a 5.31% staking rate really a yield?

    No, and this is the most important caveat in the post. BSOL’s page breaks the rate into a 5.65% gross staking reward rate and a 5.31% net rate as of September 18, 2026, with the gross figure defined as inflation rewards plus MEV plus block rewards. It is a 90-day average, and it is paid in SOL.

    Inflation rewards are dilution. The Solana network mints new SOL and pays it to stakers.

    If you stake, you hold your share. If you do not, you are diluted. That makes a large part of the 5.31% a defense against debasement rather than income on top of it.

    The rest is real: MEV and priority fees are payments for economic activity, not new supply. But no issuer breaks those components out cleanly, so treat the headline number as a range, not a coupon.

    BSOL also states it targets staking 100% of holdings through Helius, with Coinbase Custody Trust as custodian. Rewards, in the fund’s own words, “are subject to change and are not guaranteed.” We ran the wrapper-versus-self-custody version of this question in Solana staking ETF vs staking SOL yourself.

    The fee you cannot see on the fund page

    Headline expense ratios hide staking cuts. An August 2026 US News survey of eight Solana ETFs lists Grayscale’s GSOL at a 0.19% expense ratio, the lowest of the group, alongside a 7% fee on staking rewards.

    Against a 5.65% gross network rate, a 7% cut is roughly 0.40 percentage points. That is twice the entire BSOL sponsor fee.

    The same survey lists 21Shares TSOL at 0.21% with a waiver to 0% until July 2027, Fidelity FSOL and Invesco QSOL at 0.25%, VanEck VSOL at 0.30%, REX-Osprey SSK at 0.75%, and Volatility Shares SOLZ at 1.64% with no staking. Lowest headline fee is not lowest total cost.

    Which crypto ETF fits which investor?

    Neither complex is “better” in the abstract. They answer different questions. Staking exposure pays carry and imports validator and slashing risk. XRP funds are simple spot wrappers with a known, negative carry. Match the structure to what you are actually trying to own.

    If you wantStructure that fitsWhat it costsThe catch
    Carry while holding a volatile assetStaking Solana ETF (BSOL, 0.20%)+5.11% net carryMuch of the reward is inflation, not income
    Cheapest possible XRP wrapperLowest-fee XRP ETF on the issuer page today-0.19% to -0.50%Zero yield; fee drags tokens per share down
    Deepest secondary liquidityLargest fund by AUM in each complexSpread, not expense ratioLargest is not always cheapest
    Yield with principal stabilityNeither; see short-duration Treasuries~4.10% as of Sep 18, 2026No crypto upside
    Bitcoin beta in a wrapperSpot bitcoin ETFSponsor fee onlyNo staking exists on bitcoin at all

    If cost is your lens across crypto wrappers generally, our breakdown of the cheapest bitcoin ETF in 2026 and the MSTR versus IBIT comparison apply the same arithmetic to bitcoin.

    What the inflow streaks don’t tell you

    A 12-week streak sounds like conviction. At $13.2 million a week against $1.42 billion in net assets, it is roughly 0.9% weekly asset growth. The streak is real; the scale is small.

    Look at the daily prints. SoSoValue data shows the Solana week was carried by a single $11.01 million day on September 14, followed by $1.35 million, $836,926, and then nothing.

    XRP’s week was worse under the hood: $11.26 million Monday, zero Tuesday, $3.50 million Wednesday, then a $5.15 million outflow Thursday and another $43,700 out Friday. A green week with two red days is not a wave of demand. It is one Monday order.

    Price context, as of September 20, 2026, per CoinGecko: SOL traded at $112.48, up 13.1% over seven days, with a $66.07 billion market cap. XRP traded at $1.42 with an $89.58 billion cap. XRP is the larger asset with the smaller staking story and the larger ETF inflow total.

    One more structural note from the Bitwise XRP prospectus language: the amount of XRP represented by a share “will continue to be reduced during the life of the Fund” as tokens are sold to pay the sponsor fee. That is how every unstaked crypto trust works. Your token count only goes down.

    Frequently asked questions

    Can XRP ETFs ever pay a staking yield?

    Not through staking. The XRP Ledger uses a consensus protocol without proof-of-stake rewards, so there is no native issuance for a fund to capture. Any XRP ETF yield would have to come from lending or derivatives overlays, which carry counterparty risk.

    What is BSOL’s staking rate right now?

    The BSOL fund page listed a 5.65% gross and 5.31% net staking reward rate as of September 18, 2026, described as a 90-day average. Rates move with network conditions and are not guaranteed.

    Which XRP ETF has the lowest fee?

    A January 11, 2026 fee survey put Franklin Templeton’s XRPZ lowest at 0.19%, with 21Shares TOXR at 0.30% and Bitwise XRP at 0.34%. Fees and waivers change, so verify on the issuer page before buying.

    Is staking income taxable in a US ETF wrapper?

    Staking rewards distributed by a fund are generally taxable to shareholders, and these products are structured as grantor trusts rather than registered funds. Tax treatment for crypto ETPs is unsettled and asset-specific. Talk to a tax professional; our piece on the crypto wash sale rule covers the related legislative fight.

    How big are Solana ETFs compared to bitcoin ETFs?

    Solana ETFs held $1.42 billion in net assets versus $102.53 billion for bitcoin ETFs as of the week ending September 18, 2026, per SoSoValue. Solana is about 1.4% of the bitcoin complex.

    Does a lower expense ratio always mean lower cost?

    No. Staking fee cuts, trading spreads, and premium or discount to NAV can all exceed the expense ratio. A 7% cut of a 5.65% gross staking rate is about 0.40 percentage points, more than most sponsor fees in either complex.

    Why did bitcoin ETFs have their quietest week ever?

    Gross activity was not quiet. SoSoValue data shows $1.499 billion changed hands across creations and redemptions; inflows and outflows simply cancelled to $6.2 million net, the smallest in 141 weeks.

    The bottom line

    On measurable holding economics, the staking Solana ETF wins, and it is not close. BSOL’s issuer page shows a 0.20% fee against a 5.31% net staking rate, a +5.11% annual carry. Both major XRP ETFs carry negative, at -0.34% and -0.50%.

    What it depends on is whether you believe the staking rate is income or dilution defense. If you think a large share of the 5.65% gross rate is simply new SOL issued to stakers, the true carry advantage is narrower than $561 per $10,000, though still positive.

    What does not depend on anything: XRP ETF holders get no rewards, pay a fee, and watch tokens per share decline. That is the trade. The flow streaks are noise around it.

    This article is journalism, not investment advice. Do your own research before investing.

    Sources